Virtually Anything

The Age of the internet

Posted by collinsadmin on March 10, 2007

The internet has become a wealth of information at your fingertips. Information that normally wouldn’t be so easily accessible. When does it become too much information?

There is so much information on the internet that you just aren’t sure what is real and what isn’t. There are so many differences of opinions on so many different topics that you just don’t know what is the best for you. Now I’m not saying that the internet isn’t a good tool, because it definitely is. What I am saying is that there is just so many gray areas that everything is not just black and white anymore.

I was just reading some posts on Ryze about what the definition of a Virtual Assistant is. One of the remarks was that there are so many different services that the various VAs offer that the client would be confused on how they could use their services. That really is true once you think about it. When I started researching becoming a VA, I didn’t think I qualified as a VA because I saw so many people that were offering the more technical skills that I don’t have. However, I took all of the different definitions that I found of a VA and realized that I really could become a VA. My definition of a VA (just what you need is another definition) is somebody who can assist the business owner virtually. Now that could be typing, bookkeeping, calling customers or web design, you name it as long as you are assisting somebody without sitting in the office of that company you could be considered a virtual assistant.

Now granted, there are some people who don’t have any qualifications to run a VA business but they try because they are so desperate to work from home and run their own business. Those are the one’s that once they started doing it and realized how much work goes into it, they just quit.

Anyways, back to the age of the internet. The internet has helped so many people and businesses that all the scams, spam, people looking for a fast buck, has all been worth dealing with. Let’s face it, if it wasn’t for the internet, the VA business would be basically non-existent along with other professions. But how much is too much?

I couldn’t tell you how many times I have gone online to look for answers to questions. I also couldn’t tell you how many times I have gotten false information, or just too much information that I didn’t know what to do with it. I have gone online many times to look for answers to my marketing questions and I have gotten them, but numerous sites will say do something and you will be quaranteed to get clients but then for those ten sites, there are ten more telling me not to do that. I’m not saying either of those sets of sites are wrong because they very well might be right. What I am getting at is, how do you decide which ones to go by? The thing that I have learned is take all that information and do what you feel fits your personality and style best.

No one persons opinion is the correct opinion. Sure you might not agree with people but that is the best part about this world, everybody has there own personalities, morals, ethics, etc that nobody is the same. Wouldn’t this be a very boring world if we were all the same?

The internet has done a lot of good for this world but it has also hurt this world. I was just talking about this with my husband the other day. When my kids go to school and they have research to do they won’t have to use encyclopedias like we did when we were kids. All they have to do is type in what they are looking for and it’s right there at their fingertips. So my question to you, is the internet making us lazy? In some aspects of it, yes I think it is. Again, the good outweighs the bad.

Anyways, the internet is a very valuable tool as we all know but just remember not everything on the internet is the same as your thoughts and feelings. You need to go with your gut when you are trying to make a decision on something. You need to go with what feels right to you. In the case of a Virtual Assistant, if you don’t know if you need a virtual assistant or exactly what a virtual assistant is, ask somebody. Nothing is more informative then getting the information right from the horses mouth.

Tracy Collins

Leave a Reply

 
