Virtually Anything

Excuse Me While I Jump In The Nearest Hole

Posted by collinsadmin on March 12, 2008

Has this ever happened to you?

You’re deep in thought either working on something or just off in LA LA land daydreaming, the phone rings, your forget your home number is your business number so you answer it simply by saying Hello.

To your embarrassment, you realise that it is a potential client and you are quickly snapped out of your thought process just in time to get all flustered and ready to jump in the nearest hole.

It’s okay, it happens.  In fact just today, it happened to me.  I was diligently working and the phone rang and I answered it simply by saying hello.  The person on the other line quickly says I’m sorry I must have the wrong number, I was looking for Collins-Admin Services. Before I get a chance to apologize, he simply hangs up the phone. That wasn’t even the worst part of it. The worst part was that his number came up private name, private number on my caller ID so I can’t even call him back. 

Needless to say, I wanted to jump in the nearest hole because of my embarrassment. I did however dwell on it for a while thinking about how stupid I was but then it was a mistake (hey, I’m only human) and there is nothing I can do about it now except hope that if it was a potential client, he calls me back.

Another thing that helped was a good friend/colleague of mine, Laura Wheeler, gave me some great advice.  “If you beat yourself up over it, you’ll harm your ability to function.” Words to live by.

Leave a Reply

 
