Virtually Anything

Friends are the backbone of society

Posted by collinsadmin on May 2, 2008

Recently I had a death in my family, it was expected but also a shock, and I took it kind of hard but I had a great friend who was there to help me through it. No it wasn’t my next door neighbor or somebody close to my location it was somebody clear across the country. Her name was Laura Wheeler from Firelight Web Studio. 

She listened to me when I felt I needed to talk and she offered as much support as she could.  Now, I know that she has a busy business to run but she took the time to respond to my emails and just offer me support. To me, that is a great friend.

With the advancement of technology and how busy peoples lives are we often forget to sit back and think about all the non-material things that we have in our lives. What I mean by that is family and friends. All too often you find people who are more concerned about themselves and the latest gadget that came on the market instead of taking 5 minutes to listen to somebody who needs a shoulder to cry on. I guess that’s why it means so much when somebody who you haven’t ever met face-to-face (and you probably never will) takes the time to hold out their hand and say I’m here and I will help wherever I can.

My hopes in writing this post is that you will take a couple of minutes and sit back and think about what you have in your life besides all the gadgets, money, material things etc and thank god that you have it. If you have somebody close to you that you haven’t called or told them that you love them, now is the time to do it because you never know when that person will be taken from this earth. Remember, without friends and family you are just another person on this land trying to carry the weight of the world on your shoulders and you don’t have to be.

2 Responses to “Friends are the backbone of society”

  1. Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.

    Aaron Wakling

  2. Weevily said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Weevily.

Leave a Reply

 
