Virtually Anything

Is Honesty Too Much To Ask Anymore

Posted by collinsadmin on May 5, 2008

Recently it seems that my trusting nature has gotten me nowhere but the shaft. I guess anymore you should expect to be taken once in awhile (which is very sad) but what gets me the most is the type of people who are doing it.

Recently I was giving something away for free and I had a short form where all I wanted was the email address and the name of the person and company who was asking for it (nothing extravagant just something to keep track of where it went) and wouldn’t you know it, I got somebody who left some pretty vulgar names in the form. Now I am not one to get offended easily but what irritated me most was that I put my time and energy into this item without asking a penny for it and I had somebody who was ignorrant about it. I don’t always expect to get real email addresses or names but I do expect to get respect.

I let that pass and just chalked it up to somebody who was just plain ignorrant (there is always one bad apple in the tree). Then, again within the last couple of months somebody on a forum was looking for somebody to make a form for them. They had many people who tried to create the form like he wanted but for whatever reason the people didn’t know what he was asking for. So I decided since that is one of my services that I would offer to do it for him. I told him it would be $10 and since my policy is that I make sure the client is happy before I charge them, I created the form and sent it to him for his approval.

A week goes by with no response, so I figure he’s busy and wait for another week. I then email him and ask if he was satisfied with it. Again no response. So I wait another week and email him again and he emails me back that he has been extremely busy and hasn’t had the chance to look at it and that he would get back to me as soon as possible. Needless to say, I haven’t gotten a response. Sure I could keep hounding him but I have better things to do with my time then track somebody, who obviously doesn’t have common courtesy, for a measly $10.

One of the things that I have learned from this experience is not to be so trusting (although I really hate to feel this way). Just recently I got a request from somebody who wanted to review an excel sheet that I created (which I am selling) but instead of me just emailing him the excel sheet that does all the calculations, figuring if he was interested he would pay me, I put it in a PDF format and emailed it to him. Had it been a few months ago that he asked me for the sheet to review, I would’ve sent him the regular one but I’ve been burned too many times and unfortunately, I have to keep my guard up all the time.

My question to all those reading is; Is honesty in this ever-changing technological world gone? Is it only going to get worse with the advancement of technology due to the anonymity it gives?

Leave a Reply

 
